Meet & Greet

Artist Spotlight

Carol Levin

“My photography life began in high school with the very first photography class assignment; to construct a Box Camera. Once it was built, I then was assigned the task of using a single 4X5 sheet of film and taking a photograph. I was hooked! At that time, I had only a Brownie Camera with which to shoot.

I had always wanted to be an artist for as long as I can remember, probably about from age seven. My initial dream was to be a cartoonist, but my path lead me instead to becoming a graphic artist. I worked in the Advertising field for over 25 years from Designer, to Art Director, to Creative Director and then having my own Design Studio.

I won my first award in art in the 6th grade, for a poster on Peace. Since that time, I have won several awards, both from the Printing Industry and from my peers; The Art Directors Club of New York and New Jersey and New York – The One Show.”

Combining what I see and how I see things, I merge both worlds of photography and graphics to create a unique piece of work. Art has always in one way or another been my way of expressing myself and communicating with the world.”

Maidy Morhous

Born in New York and raised in Southern California, Maidy studied under the tutelage of cognoscenti’ Richard Swift / Stanley Hayter; founder of Atelier 17 Paris, France, and went on to receive her Master of Fine Arts Degree in Printmaking and Sculpture.

Maidy’s work can be found in public and private collections in the United States, Japan, Europe and Canada. Her early years in the arts began as a Printmaker represented by Fidelity Arts of Beverly Hills, California, an international gallery, who over the course of ten years purchased and sold over 60 Editions of 150 prints of Maidy’s intaglio prints.Maidy’s artwork currently featured in a solo exhibition at Tohoku University, Japan, and is showing at Whistler Museum, MA, World Wide Art LA, ART San Diego, and Art Expo 2015 by invitation. A dedication ceremony for her sculpture “Infinite” was held 1/20/2014 at Scripps Clinic Carmel Valley, where it can be viewed in the main lobby first floor. A commission by Heartland Films Inc. that parallels the film ONE is to be displayed in the Rose Garden Park in Mound City, Kansas later in 2014. Her work is catalogued within The Smithsonian Institution Archives, The Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, the Whitney Museum, the Chicago Museum of Art, the Library of Congress, the Museum of Women in the Arts (Washington, D.C.), and the New York Public Library.

“Art is a form of communication between the artist and the viewer. Art is about vision, and how that vision is expressed is what can create a strong emotional pull for the observer.”

Leave a Reply

