Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Artist Spotlight(1)

JoAnne Unger

“It is my goal to lead the viewer on a voyage of discovery around the painting with the hope that they will be drawn in by the contrasting elements of light and dark, color and colorlessness, impasto and smooth brushwork, vertical and horizontal, geometric and organic, shiny and dull, soft and hard edges.”

Jacquelyn Blue

“Plein air paintings is one of the most frustrating of artistic endeavors. Trudging off into the hills looking for a place to paint is exhilerating. Finding a perfect spot, setting up, painting for several uninterrupted (hopefully) hours and producing a painting can be an unbelievable high. The painting doesn’t even have to be good! Each of these excursions is an invaluable learning experience. Sure, I take photos along the way for use later in studio paintings BUT those small paintings produced en plein air are the ones of which I’m most proud. After all, I’ve had to hike in lugging an 18 lb. backpack with all my supplies, endured the heat and/or cold, fought off annoying bugs, been polite (usually) to passersby, set up all my paraphenalia and stood for hours working in the sun. It’s an accomplshment just to survive the day.”

Sheri Cohen

“My goal is to broaden the concept of wearable art. Mixing textures, precious materials, and more common found objects in the same piece, I hope to change the expectations from what is typically thought as jewelry to art.I specialize in creating a fearless style of jewelry to inspire empowerment in the wearer. I am often asked, “Who collects your jewelry?” My answer is always, “Self-confident women.”

 

 

 

 

